The Poems of Arto Vaun

2009 Forward Book of Poetry Book CoverCongratulations to Glimpse Staff Poet and Contributing Editor, Arto Vaun, for his High Commendation by the 2009 Forward Prize! One of Vaun’s works has been selected for High Commendation by the Forward Prize (the Pulitzer equivalent of the UK) as one of the best poems published in the UK in 2009. Vaun states: “I’m honored to be alongside some stellar company like Anne Carson, Sharon Olds, CK Williams, Mary Oliver, Stanley Moss, and Andrew Motion.” His first book of poems, Capillarity, was published this year by Carcanet Press and recently reviewed by the Guardian alongside John Updike’s Endpoint and Other Poems. The poem for nomination can be found in the Forward Book of Poetry which was released on Oct. 1st by Faber & Faber. Vaun joined the Glimpse team in August 2009, and his inaugural poem for Glimpse, featured below, will appear in our upcoming Color (vol 2.3) issue:

Singed BedroomWeekend Afternoon
I painted the walls plum and hung sheer
Curtains so when they caught fire from the atoms
Rushing from my body this afternoon
It was the loveliest thing I had seen
The rain came down like a song as I was
Disintegrating seamlessly all electric soft colors
I turned into something solar and crackling
Watching from my twin bed
How I wanted to reach out to my own going
As a spirit might want to examine itself in a photo
Barely present in a spot of faded yellow light
Looking hard squinting and asking Is that me

Singed Bedroom, Weekend Afternoon

I painted the walls plum and hung sheer

Curtains so when they caught fire from the atoms

Rushing from my body this afternoon

It was the loveliest thing I had seen

The rain came down like a song as I was

Disintegrating seamlessly all electric soft colors

I turned into something solar and crackling

Watching from my twin bed

How I wanted to reach out to my own going

As a spirit might want to examine itself in a photo

Barely present in a spot of faded yellow light

Looking hard squinting and asking Is that me

Leave a Reply

